ManagerJosh
08-03-2003, 08:09 PM
RUDE. I mean RUDE. During a bunch of standard security checks on the mainsite, we picked up some staff center board that belongs to sims2center.
I couldn't tell if there was hot linking going on (cause their boards was password protected) so I asked and gees...these guys are touché
Sims 2 Center Staff <staff@sims2center.0catch.com> wrote:
I can not disclose the information on that message board. I can however tell you there is no hotlinking, as I myself have been a victim of such a thing, and will not allow any of my staff or my visitors to hot link to anyones sites. further more hotlinking is only when linking to a file or application of a website, not a page. The only link contained on that messageboard is to the main page of world sims. And the way you claim to have gotten the information is totaly ludicris. There is no such program that scans the entire internet to see if a specific link is being used. Your getting it through an embeded counter, or tracker at your site. Everytime one of my staff members use the messageboard as a means to get to your site, your tracker picks it up, and shows you the link where they came from. I know because I have one on my site as well. Your just trying to see what people are saying about our website, and your mad you hit a password protected messageboard. Please don't bother me with this again or I'll turn you into yahoo for using your email as a spaming tool.
----- Original Message -----
From: WorldSims WebMaster
To: Sims 2 Center Staff
Sent: Saturday, August 02, 2003 11:57 PM
Subject: Re: WorldSims Active Matrix Report: Sims2Center
This is a routine security check we do. Active Matrix is designed to track hot linkers and if we have suspicions about hot linking, we dispatch staff to investigate.
For example. Active Matrix recently picked up these URL(s):
http://pub162.ezboard.com/fsims2centerfrm25.showMessage?topicID=11.topic
We only target specific topics because that's what active matrix is designed to do. We can target sites with a 98% accuracy on who's hot linking or and who is not.
If you could just provide us with selected details what's going on there..such as selected messages to show that you are not hot linking, then we will be on our way. We are not trying to infiltrate your admin center nor are we trying to cause any problems. We are simply asking for details on a particular link that lead to our site to ensure bandwith isn't being taken.
As for first amendment rights, that goes away the minute hot linking (bandwith theft) is involved. If you were to write an article and quote someone's text without proper permission, or credit where it is due, it would be considered theft despite your claim as first amendment rights because you wrote the article.
We aren't accusing you of anything. We are just performing a check to ensure hot linking isn't occuring.
Your cooperation would be most appreciated.
All the best,
ManagerJosh
Director of Operations, Security
WorldSims.org, LLC.
http://www.worldsims.org
Sims 2 Center Staff <staff@sims2center.0catch.com> wrote:
I have no idea what your talking about. If you mean that I was providing a link to your site on my messageboard, and you were wondering why, then I'm just going to say it's private. Thats the way it goes. I password protect those forums for a reason, I'm protected by US first amendment law which states freedom of speech, even in the writen word. If your trying to accuse me of something take it up with ezboard.
----- Original Message -----
From: WorldSims WebMaster
To: staff@sims2center.0catch.com
Sent: Saturday, August 02, 2003 10:28 AM
Subject: WorldSims Active Matrix Report: Sims2Center
To Whom it May Concern:
My name is ManagerJosh, and I'm the Director of Operations and Security here at WorldSims.org, LLC. We picked up your S2C Staff Headquarters ezBoard Forums on our Active Matrix Security screen a few weeks ago.
The URL picked up was http://pub162.ezboard.com/bsims2center
We picked it up again a few days later, with more duplicate URLs.
We tried to investigate what was the thread/post made but was unable to because of security restrictions placed by you. Any details related to this incident would be great as it would help clear any suspicions.
All the best,
ManagerJosh
WorldSims.org, LLC.
http://worldsims.org
I'm wondering what I did to offend them...:rolleyes: Cause I don't know what I did...and seriously he didn't need to be so uncooperative.:rolleyes:
I couldn't tell if there was hot linking going on (cause their boards was password protected) so I asked and gees...these guys are touché
Sims 2 Center Staff <staff@sims2center.0catch.com> wrote:
I can not disclose the information on that message board. I can however tell you there is no hotlinking, as I myself have been a victim of such a thing, and will not allow any of my staff or my visitors to hot link to anyones sites. further more hotlinking is only when linking to a file or application of a website, not a page. The only link contained on that messageboard is to the main page of world sims. And the way you claim to have gotten the information is totaly ludicris. There is no such program that scans the entire internet to see if a specific link is being used. Your getting it through an embeded counter, or tracker at your site. Everytime one of my staff members use the messageboard as a means to get to your site, your tracker picks it up, and shows you the link where they came from. I know because I have one on my site as well. Your just trying to see what people are saying about our website, and your mad you hit a password protected messageboard. Please don't bother me with this again or I'll turn you into yahoo for using your email as a spaming tool.
----- Original Message -----
From: WorldSims WebMaster
To: Sims 2 Center Staff
Sent: Saturday, August 02, 2003 11:57 PM
Subject: Re: WorldSims Active Matrix Report: Sims2Center
This is a routine security check we do. Active Matrix is designed to track hot linkers and if we have suspicions about hot linking, we dispatch staff to investigate.
For example. Active Matrix recently picked up these URL(s):
http://pub162.ezboard.com/fsims2centerfrm25.showMessage?topicID=11.topic
We only target specific topics because that's what active matrix is designed to do. We can target sites with a 98% accuracy on who's hot linking or and who is not.
If you could just provide us with selected details what's going on there..such as selected messages to show that you are not hot linking, then we will be on our way. We are not trying to infiltrate your admin center nor are we trying to cause any problems. We are simply asking for details on a particular link that lead to our site to ensure bandwith isn't being taken.
As for first amendment rights, that goes away the minute hot linking (bandwith theft) is involved. If you were to write an article and quote someone's text without proper permission, or credit where it is due, it would be considered theft despite your claim as first amendment rights because you wrote the article.
We aren't accusing you of anything. We are just performing a check to ensure hot linking isn't occuring.
Your cooperation would be most appreciated.
All the best,
ManagerJosh
Director of Operations, Security
WorldSims.org, LLC.
http://www.worldsims.org
Sims 2 Center Staff <staff@sims2center.0catch.com> wrote:
I have no idea what your talking about. If you mean that I was providing a link to your site on my messageboard, and you were wondering why, then I'm just going to say it's private. Thats the way it goes. I password protect those forums for a reason, I'm protected by US first amendment law which states freedom of speech, even in the writen word. If your trying to accuse me of something take it up with ezboard.
----- Original Message -----
From: WorldSims WebMaster
To: staff@sims2center.0catch.com
Sent: Saturday, August 02, 2003 10:28 AM
Subject: WorldSims Active Matrix Report: Sims2Center
To Whom it May Concern:
My name is ManagerJosh, and I'm the Director of Operations and Security here at WorldSims.org, LLC. We picked up your S2C Staff Headquarters ezBoard Forums on our Active Matrix Security screen a few weeks ago.
The URL picked up was http://pub162.ezboard.com/bsims2center
We picked it up again a few days later, with more duplicate URLs.
We tried to investigate what was the thread/post made but was unable to because of security restrictions placed by you. Any details related to this incident would be great as it would help clear any suspicions.
All the best,
ManagerJosh
WorldSims.org, LLC.
http://worldsims.org
I'm wondering what I did to offend them...:rolleyes: Cause I don't know what I did...and seriously he didn't need to be so uncooperative.:rolleyes: