Troubleshooting Sims 3 Chrashing .. .I thought I had all the requirements!!!

Discussion in 'The Sims 3' started by fourtsixand2, Aug 19, 2009.

1. fourtsixand2

fourtsixand2 New Member

Sims 3 Chrashing .. .I thought I had all the requirements!!!

I've been flipping through the thread and unfortunately I just don't get it. I had my husband install 2 GB of RAM today so I could run the game.
    It was noticeably faster, but about 5 minutes into building a house it froze. I couldn't even exit so I had to just shut off the computer.
    I loaded the game again, continued playing, and the same thing happened.
    This last time it displayed a message saying my display driver has stopped working (ialmrnt5).
    First of all, I don't know what a display driver is (yes, I'm an amateur) and secondly I was under the impression I had all the required specs the game listed. (I have plenty of RAM now, a Pentium 4, Plenty of free hard drive, etc)

I read something about someone posting their "dxdiag" - I searched this forum and figured out how to do it. I pasted it below.

I also read something about downloading the newest Nvidia, which I did, but I don't have any idea if it even works.

Can anyone help me with this issue? I'd be happy to post whatever specs you need if you can tell me how to do it.

I appreciate any help. Thank you!!!

Attached Files:

2. swmeek

swmeek I got your benevolent dictator pal!!

Is this a laptop or desktop computer?
    There are several different video device manufacturers out on the market .
    The top three are Nvidia, ATI and Intel.
    Yours is a Intel chipset- (this one specifically) Intel(R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family.
    I also notice it's well over 4 years old too.
    If it's a laptop then you'll need to go to the support site for your laptop and download them from there.
    If it's a desktop pc then these are the drivers you need -