Total Noob overload - HELP !!!

Discussion in 'The Sims 2' started by ScarletSorceror, Jun 15, 2012.

1. ScarletSorceror

ScarletSorceror New Member

I've just bought and loaded up "The Sims 2 Double Deluxe" (Sims 2 + Nightlife + Celebration Stuff). I've successfully completed all the tutorials and watched the tutorial videos on the bonus disc.

However when I looked at each of the three possible starting territories they each have between six and three families already in place which certainly you CAN control. After slightly panicking at so many Sims that suddenly appeared to be all relying on me to look after their needs (are they ?) I eventually ended up selecting Romeo Cap from scenario 3. Working out his career goals I used the phone to make a date with Juliet Monty, chose the public lot as a date bearing in mind the family history, and then struggled to find it when the taxi arrived. Once we got there I used Romeo's goals to romance Juliet - actually very successfully to the extent of asking her home. Once at home I set about trying to hook up Romeo's brother with the only free woman in the game - Juliet's sister. Unfortunately I must have pressed a wrong button and ended up with ROMEO asking Juliet's sister out half way through the date with her - with quite spectacularly bad results. The story is mainly there for the amusement factor - I can manage reload. But these are my problems...

1) How much responsibility do you have to take for the controllable families in each scenario ? Does the computer look after them ? How does it know which you are playing and which it should be playing ? If I built my own family with my own house would the rest of the neighbourhood collapse because I'm not telling every controllable character when to go to the toilet and to eat ? Are the characters you can control the ONLY characters in the game - are there no NPCs ?